Daft Punk, Paul McCartney, Babyshambles up for best artwork award

The dance duo are nominated for the Art Vinyl prize for the sleeve to their hit single 'Get Lucky'

Daft Punk, Paul McCartney and Babyshambles are just some of the artists whose record sleeves have been nominated for the Best Art Vinyl prize.

The 50 shortlisted record sleeves will appear in exhibitions across Europe. The public will be invited to vote for their favourites and will ultimately decide the winner. The exhibitions will run until the end of January 2014 with the award winner being announced on 3rd January 2014.

Damien Hirst is nominated for his work on Babyshambles’ ‘Sequel To The Prequel’ sleeve, while fashion designer Vanessa Da Silva is nominated for the cover of ‘Turbines’, by folk rockers Tunng.


Daft Punk have been nominated for the sleeve of their hit single ‘Get Lucky’, which sees the duo in their trademark robot outfits against a setting sun, alongside singer Pharell Williams and Chic guitarist Nile Rodgers.

Other sleeves nominated include Paul McCartney’s album ‘New’, which was inspired by the sculptures of artist Dan Flavin. Other names including Edwyn Collins and Welsh artist Sweet Baboo are also up for the award. The full list can be seen at www.bestartvinyl.com.

Best Art Vinyl founder Andrew Heeps said in a statement: “For the past eight years we have celebrated the artistic value of record covers through the award, enabling us to get a snapshot of public opinion on record sleeve art.”

He added: ” Possibly the most credible end of year award where the artistic merits of the completely unknown can sit alongside the big names in music albeit in celebration of their visual identity for recent work. The Best Art Vinyl Award is a unique opportunity to discover new artists in the broadest sense and reflect on new work by some of the now great masters of the art world. These exhibitions celebrate an artistic spectrum which span from the likes of Damien Hirst’s mass market appeal to the weird and wonderful designs, some of which have been hand crafted and produced in as little as 100 copies.”

Last year’s winner was The Temper Trap’s self-titled album. Previous winners include Thom Yorke’s ‘The Eraser’ designed by long-term Radiohead collaborator Stanley Donwood, and The Fleet Foxes eponymous LP, which was a painting by sixteenth century Dutch artist Pieter Bruegel.