BBC Sound of 2013 longlist revealed

Peace, Palma Violets, Haim included in list of 15 acts

Peace, Palma Violets, Haim and Savages are included on the longlist for the BBC’s Sound of 2013, revealed today (Dec 10).

The annual list, compiled by critics, DJs and music industry bosses, features fifteen acts expected to deliver great things in the coming twelve months. A final five will be revealed in January with one overall winner being announced. Previous winners of the prize include Michael Kiwanuka, Adele, Jessie J and Ellie Goulding.

This year’s longlist of fifteen names includes Palma Violets, who won NME’s track of the year as well as Birmingham band Peace, who will appear alongside Palma Violets on the 2013 NME Awards Tour. Other bands to make the list include Savages, Haim, Kodaline, Little Green Cars and Chvrches.

New York rapper Angel Haze features on the list alongside RnB singers The Weeknd and Arlissa whilst London based acts King Krule and AlunaGeorge also feature. The longlist is rounded off by Tom Odell, Laura Mvula and A*M*E.

The BBC Sound 2013 longlist is as follows:

Angel Haze
King Krule
Laura Mvula
Little Green Cars
Palma Violets
The Weeknd
Tom Odell