Occupation Records to release debut compilation ‘Folk The Banks’ in June

Tom Morello, Martha Wainwright, King Blues all feature on record label's first ever release

Occupation Records, the record label founded and run by members of the Occupy London movement, has announced it will release its debut compilation next month.

The compilation, which is titled ‘Folk The Banks’, will be released on June 4 and will feature 18 tracks in total. Among the artists set to feature on the album are Rage Against The Machine‘s Tom Morello, Martha Wainwright, The King Blues and Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.

Speaking about his involvement with Occupy, Morello said: “The wealthiest CEOs reward themselves with million dollar bonuses while millions are out of work. What can we do about it? We can protest against it, fight back against it, and sing songs that do both.”

The album will not be available from iTunes or Amazon, but will be on other digital retail sites as well as Occupy’s official website and will also be released into record shops from June 6. The record will be available to download on a pay-what-you-want basis.

To find out more information, visit Occupationrecords.com.

The tracklisting for ‘Folk The Banks’ is as follows:

Billy Bragg – ‘Which Side Are You On?’
Anais Mitchell – ‘1984’
Ryan Harvey – ‘See It Through’
Show of Hands – ‘Arrogance, Ignorance And Greed’
King Blues – ‘We Are Fucking Angry’
Chris T-T – ‘A-Z’
Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly. – ‘Gamblers Lament’
Ani DiFranco – ‘Coming Up’
Peggy Seeger – ‘Doggone, Occupation Is On’
Leon Rosselson – ‘Money Matters’
The Young-uns – ‘Hard Times’
Martha Wainright – ‘No Woman, No Cry’
Oysterband – ‘The Early Days of a Better Nation’
Chumbawamba – ‘The Old School Tie’
Jim Moray – ‘The Rufford Park Poachers’
Eddie Morton – ‘Union Jack’
Tao Rodriguez-Seeger – ‘Well May The World Go’
The Nightwatchman: Tom Morello – ‘World Wide Rebel Songs’