XX, Mumford & Sons, Paul Weller feature as 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize Shortlist is announced

Laura Marling, Biffy Clyro, Foals and Wild Beasts are also among the nominees announced in London

The shortlist for the 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize has been announced this morning (July 20).

The names of the 12-strong list were revealed this morning at a press conference at London‘s Hospital Club.

As widely predicted, The xx feature with their self-titled debut, while Wild Beasts, Mumford and Sons and Laura Marling have also been nominated by the prize’s jury.

This year’s NME Awards Godlike Genius Paul Weller features on the shortlist for the first time in 16 years with his album ‘Wake Up The Nation’, while Biffy Clyro, Foals and Corinne Bailey Rae have made the cut.

Dublin‘s Villagers are perhaps the biggest surprise to feature on the list, with Manchester veterans I Am Kloot also nominated.

The 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist is:

Biffy Clyro – ‘Only Revolutions’
Corinne Bailey Rae – ‘The Sea’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Tongue N’ Cheek’
Kit Downes Trio – ‘Golden’
Foals – ‘Total Life Forever’
I Am Kloot – ‘Sky At Night’
Laura Marling – ‘I Speak Because I Can’
Mumford And Sons – ‘Sigh No More’
Paul Weller – ‘Wake Up The Nation’
Villagers – ‘Becoming A Jackal’
Wild Beasts – ‘Two Dancers’
The XX – ‘XX’

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on September 7.

Listen to all the albums on the Mercury shortlist

You can buy all the albums from the Mercury Prize shortlist from Amazon.co.uk now.