‘The X Factor’ winner Matt Cardle to release debut album this October

The latest series of the talent show starts this weekend

The winner of last year’s The X Factor, Matt Cardle, has announced the release of his debut album.

‘Letters’ will be released on October 17, and apparently sees him continuing with the same Biffy Clyro balladeering which won him a Number One hit single last Christmas with ‘When We Collide’. He’ll also be having his way with mum-pleasing Snow Patrol-style sonics on the album.

According to The Sun, the title track is said to be similar to Coldplay’s 2005 single ‘Fix You’ while Cardle said of ‘All For Nothing’ – which was co-written with Adele collaborator Eg White – that he “recorded it after a couple of cups of tea and a few cigarettes so it’s quite raw”. Indeed.

Other songs on the album include ‘Run For Your Life’, ‘Starlight’ and ‘Amazing’.

The eighth series of The X Factor starts on August 20 on ITV1, with judges Gary Barlow, Kelly Rowland, Tulisa Contostavlos and Louis Walsh heading up the show.