Exclusive David Byrne, Arcade Fire, Feist tracks previewed online

'Dark Was The Night' compilation will be streamed one day at a time

A collaboration between David Byrne and Dirty Projectors is among the exclusive tracks that will be streamed for free before the release of the upcoming ‘Dark Was The Night’ compilation.

The track, called ‘Knotty Pine’ started streaming today (January 15) at myspace.com/DarkWasTheNight

Other acts to contribute tracks to the effort are Belle & Sebastian’s Stuart Murdoch, The National, Sufjan Stevens, a collaboration from Grizzly Bear and Feist, and Arcade Fire.

From today through February 1, each track will be released for one day.

Scheduled to be released on February 17, the album will be available as a double cd/triple vinyl/download. Sales of the record will benefit the Red Hot Organization – an international charity using music as a vehicle to raise money and awareness for HIV and AIDS.

The tracklist for the release is:


‘Knotty Pine’ – Dirty Projectors + David Byrne

‘Cello Song’ (Nick Drake) – The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez

‘Train Song ‘(Vashti Bunyan recorded, written by Alasdair Clayre) – Feist + Ben Gibbard

‘Brackett, WI’ – Bon Iver

‘Deep Blue Sea’ – Grizzly Bear

‘So Far Around the Bend’ – The National (arrangement by Nico Muhly)

‘Tightrope’ – Yeasayer

‘Feeling Good’ (popularized by Nina Simone) – My Brightest Diamond

‘Dark Was the Night’ (Blind Willie Johnson) – Kronos Quartet

‘I Was Young When I Left Home’ (Bob Dylan) – Antony + Bryce Dessner

‘Big Red Machine’ – Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner

‘Sleepless’ – The Decemberists

‘Stolen Houses’ (Die) – Iron and Wine

‘Service Bell’ – Grizzly Bear + Feist

‘You Are The Blood – Sufjan Stevens


‘Well-Alright’ – Spoon

‘Lenin’ – Arcade Fire

‘Mimizan’ – Beirut

‘El Caporal’ – My Morning Jacket

‘Inspiration Information’ (Shuggie Otis) – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings

‘With A Girl Like You’ (The Troggs) – Dave Sitek

‘Blood Pt 2’ (based on original song ‘You are the Blood’ by the Castanets) – Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)

‘Hey, Snow White’ (Destroyer) – The New Pornographers

‘Gentle Hour’ (Snapper) – Yo La Tengo

‘Another Saturday’ (traditional song) – Stuart Murdoch

‘Happiness’ – Riceboy Sleeps

‘Amazing Grace’ (traditional song) – Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues

‘The Giant Of Illinois’ (Handsome Family) – Andrew Bird

‘Lua’ – Conor Oberst + Gillian Welch

‘When the Road Runs Out ‘- Blonde Redhead + Devastations

‘Love vs. Porn’ – Kevin Drew

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.