Rick Rubin enlists Flying Lotus, Rustie, Röyksopp and more for ‘Star Wars Headspace’ compilation

A raft of producers have created new dance tracks using sounds from the 'Star Wars' films

Rick Rubin has announced details of a new compilation he has curated and produced, which features new songs created using sounds found in the Star Wars films.

Flying Lotus, Rustie, Röyksopp and more have all contributed to the new album, ‘Star Wars Headspace’.

Speaking to Zane Lowe on Apple Music, Flying Lotus said the project began with Rubin. “He kind of handpicked all the people he wanted to be part of this thing,” he said. “And I’m just flattered to be involved in this thing. At the same time, it makes sense. I just feel close to these sounds.”

As Complex reports, the producer also told Lowe that there was only rule for the project: “Just don’t sample any John Williams music. Don’t mess with that John Williams though!”

Listen to three tracks from the compilation at Pitchfork now.

The album will be released digitally on February 19 and physically on March 18, via Hollywood Records/American Recordings.

The full track listing is as follows:

01. Kaskade – ‘C-3P0’s Plight’
02. GTA – ‘Help Me!’
03. TroyBoi – ‘Force’
04. Bauer – ‘Cantina Boys’
05. Shag Kava – ‘Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work (ft. A-Trak)’
06. Claude VonStroke – ‘R2 Knows (ft. Barry Drift)’
07. Rick Rubin ‘NR-G7’
08. Bonobo – ‘Ghomrassen’
09. Röyksopp – ‘Bounty Hunters’
10. ATTLAS – ‘Sunset Over Manaan’
11. Flying Lotus – ‘R2 Where R U?’
12. Shlohmo – ‘Druid Caravan of Smoke’
13. Rustie – ‘EWOK PUMPP’
14. Galantis – ‘Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder’
15. Breakbot – ‘Star Tripper’