The Replacements reissues on the way

Remastered tracks feature Ramones man and Tom Waits

Several classic Replacements albums are being remastered and re-released in the US this autumn.

Rhino Records will reissue the four albums the band originally put out on Sire Records from 1985 to 1990 — ‘Tim’, ‘Pleased To Meet Me’, ‘Don’t Tell A Soul’ and ‘All Shook Down’ — on September 23.

The reissues will feature several rare and previously unreleased tracks including ‘Date To Church’, which features Tom Waits and was originally released as the b-side to ‘I’ll Be You’, and a demo of ‘Kiss Me On The Bus’ produced by Ramones drummer Tommy ‘Ramone’ Erdelyi.


“I can go back and listen and know that those are good songs,” frontman Paul Westerberg said of the tracks on their 1985 debut ‘Tim’ in a statement. “Yeah, the (recordings) are a little quirky and a little off…but, you know, a lot of the stuff that I’ve loved throughout my life didn’t sound perfect. And I kinda like that about ‘Tim’,” he added.

The ‘Tim’ tracklisting is:

‘Hold My Life’

‘I’ll Buy’

‘Kiss Me On The Bus’

‘Dose Of Thunder’


‘Waitress In The Sky’

‘Swingin Party’

‘Bastards Of Young’

‘Lay It Down Clown’

‘Left Of The Dial’

‘Little Mascara’

‘Here Comes A Regular’

Bonus Material

‘Can’t Hardly Wait’ (Acoustic ­ Alex Chilton Sessions Outtake) *

‘Nowhere Is My Home’ (Alex Chilton Sessions Outtake)

‘Can’t Hardly Wait’ (Electric ­ Alex Chilton Sessions Outtake) *

‘Kiss Me On The Bus’ (Tom Erdelyi Demo) *

‘Waitress In The Sky’ (Outtake ­ Alternate Version) *

‘Here Comes A Regular’ (Outtake ­ Alternate Version) *

The ‘Pleased To Meet Me’ tracklisting is:


‘Alex Chilton’

‘I Don’t Know’

‘Nightclub Jitters’

‘The Ledge’

‘Never Mind’


‘Shooting Dirty Pool’

‘Red Red Wine’


‘Can’t Hardly Wait’

Bonus Material

‘Birthday Gal’ (Demo)*

‘Valentine’ (Demo) *

‘Bundle Up’ (Demo) *

‘Photo’ (Demo)*

‘Election Day’

‘Alex Chilton’ (Alternate Version) *

‘Kick It In’ (Demo) *

‘Route 66’

‘Tossin’ ‘N’ Turnin”

‘Can’t Hardly Wait’ (Alternate Version) *

‘Cool Water’

The ‘Don’t Tell A Soul’ tracklisting is:

‘Talent Show’

‘Back To Back’

‘We’ll Inherit The Earth’

‘Achin’ To Be’

‘They’re Blind’

‘Anywhere’s Better Than Here’

‘Asking Me Lies’

‘I’ll Be You’

‘I Won’t’

‘Rock ‘N’ Roll Ghost’

‘Darlin’ One’

Bonus Material


‘Wake Up’

‘Cruella DeVille’

‘Talent Show’ (Demo) *

‘We’ll Inherit The Earth’ (Mix 1) *

‘Date To Church’

‘We Know The Night’ (Outtake) *

‘Gudbuy T’ Jane’ (Outtake) *

The ‘All Shook Down’ tracklisting is:

‘Merry Go Round’

‘One Wink At A Time’


‘Bent Out Of Shape’

‘Sadly Beautiful’

‘Someone Take The Wheel’

‘When It Began’

‘All Shook Down’


‘Happy Town’


‘My Little Problem’

‘The Last’

Bonus Material

‘When It Began’ (Demo) *

‘Nobody’ (Demo) *

‘One Wink At A Time’ (Demo) *

‘Torture’ (Demo) *

‘Attitude’ (Demo) *

‘Happy Town’ (Demo) *

‘Tiny Paper Plane’ (Demo) *

‘Sadly Beautiful’ (Demo) *

‘Kissin’ In Action’

‘Ought To Get Love’


*previously unreleased recordings

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.