Long-list of nominees announced for Shortlist Prize

Klaxons, Kings Of Leon, Arcade Fire, MIA, LCD Soundsystem get nods

The list of nominees for the 2007 Shortlist Prize have been announced, and there’s 54 on the list.

Albums from Klaxons, MIA, Kings Of Leon, Justice and LCD Soundsystem have received nods, as have Feist, Spoon and Fionn Regan.

The albums released last year appear on a ‘long list’ of nominees which will be reduced to 10 finalists in the coming weeks.

This year’s panel include Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol and Ronnie Vannucci of The Killers.

The award, which is thought of as the US equivalent of the Mercury Music Prize, was previously won by TV On The Radio, Sufjan Stevens and Cat Power, among others.

The long list of nominations is:

A Fine Frenzy – ‘One Cell in the Sea’

Against Me! – ‘New Wave’

Animal Collective – ‘Strawberry Jam’

Arcade Fire – ‘Neon Bible’

Bad Religion – ‘New Maps of Hell’

Biffy Clyro – ‘Puzzle’

Bjork – ‘Volta’

Blonde Redhead – ‘23’

BrakesBrakesBrakes – ‘The Beatific Visions’

Burial – ‘Untrue’

Calvin Harris – ‘I Created Disco’

Dead Heart Bloom – ‘Chelsea Diaries’

Digitalism – ‘Idealism’

Dollyrots – ‘Because I’m Awesome’

Eddie Vedder – ‘Into the Wild Soundtrack’

Feist – ‘The Reminder’

Fionn Regan – ‘The End of History’

Future of the Left – ‘Curses’

Gogol Bordello – ‘Super Taranta’

Grinderman – ‘Grinderman’

Gui Boratto – ‘Chromaphobia’

Iron and Wine – ‘The Shepherd’s Dog’

Jesca Hoop – ‘Kismet’

Josh Ritter – ‘The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter’

Juliette and the Licks – ‘Four on the Floor’

Justice – ‘Cross’

Keren Ann – ‘Keren Ann’

Kings of Leon – ‘Because of the Times’

Klaxons – ‘Myths of the Near Future’

LCD Soundsystem – ‘Sound of Silver’

Le Loup – ‘The Throne of the Third Heaven’

Les Savy Fav – ‘Let’s Stay Friends’

M.I.A. – ‘Kala’

Maps – ‘We can Create’

o’Death – ‘Head Home’

Of Montreal – ‘Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?’

Parts and Labor – ‘Mapmaker’

Peter Bjorn and John – ‘Writers Block’

PJ Harvey – ‘White Chalk’

Puscifer – ‘V is for Vagina’

Robert Francis – ‘One by One’

Robert Pollard – ‘Standard Gargoyle Decisions’

Scout Niblett – ‘This Fool Can Die Now’

Serj Tankian – ‘Elect the Dead’

Spoon – ‘Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga’

Stars – ‘In Our Bedroom After the War’

Swizz Beatz – ‘One Man Band Man’

The Bird and The Bee – ‘The Bird and The Bee’

The Hives – ‘Black and White Album’

The Thrills – ‘Teenager’

Underworld – ‘Oblivion with Bells’

Wheat – ‘Everyday I Said a Prayer’

Wilco – ‘Sky Blue Sky’

Working for a Nuclear Free City – ‘Businessmen and Ghosts’

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.