Yes announce 40th anniversary North American tour

Prog-rockers are back this summer

Yes have announced a tour of North America to mark the band’s 40th anniversary.

The shows will be the legendary prog-rockers’ first live performances in over 5 years and will kick off July 12 in Canada.

‘It feels incredible to gear up and get ready for the road,’ said Yes frontman Jon Anderson in a statement, ‘It’s been five years since our last tour. We’re all very excited to play to all of our fans, a lot of which have been with us for almost 40 years. A lot of marriages don’t even last that long.’

Playing with the band this tour are founding members Jon Anderson and Chris Squire joined by Steve Howe, Alan White and Oliver Wakeman, son of former Yes keyboardist Rick Wakeman.

The tour dates are:

Quebec City Quebec City Festival (July 120

Toronto, ON Molson Amphitheatre (13)

Columbus, OH Nationwide Arena (15)

Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium & Star Pavilion (16)

Chicago, IL Charter One Pavilion at Northerly Island (18)

Detroit, MI Freedom Hill (19)

Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Arena (22)

Boston, MA Bank of America Pavilion (23)

Atlantic City, NJ Borgata Event Center (25)

Wantagh, NY Nikon at Jones Beach Theater (26)

Holmdel, NJ PNC Bank Arts Center (28)

Baltimore, MD Pier 6 Pavilion (29)

Tampa, FL Ford Amphitheatre (31)

Miami, FL Hard Rock Live Arena (August 1)

Orlando, FL Hard Rock Live (2)

Atlanta, GA Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre at Encore Park (4)

Kansas City, MO Starlight Theatre (6)

Houston, TX Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion (8)

Dallas, TX Center (9)

Denver, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre (11)

Vancouver, BC General Motors Place (14)

Seattle, WA WaMu Theater at Qwest Field Events Center (15)

Mountain View,CA Shoreline Amphitheatre at Mountain View (19)

Anaheim, CA Honda Center (20)

Universal City, CA Gibson Amphitheatre (22)

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.

The NME Awards USA 2008 are coming soon — and it’s time to have your say. Vote now by heading to and you could win VIP tickets to the ceremony, which takes place in Los Angeles on April 23.