The collection stretches through the group's golden years...

Seminal US rock group THE BAND, whose track ‘THE WEIGHT’ is regularly covered by TRAVIS live, have announced details of a new greatest hits compilation.

The album, simply entitled ‘The Band – Greatest Hits’ will be released on February 12 via EMI. The tracks, which feature material from their 1968 record ‘Music From The Big Pink’ through to 1977’s ‘Islands, have been remastered under the supervision of three of the surviving members of the group; Robbie Robertson, Levon Helm and Garth Hudson.

The full tracklisting for the album is:

‘The Weight’

‘Tears Of Rage’

‘Chest Fever’

‘I Shall Be Released’

‘Up On Cripple Creek’

‘The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down’

‘Rag Mama Rag’

‘King Harvest’

‘The Shape I’m In’

‘Stage Fright’

‘Time To Kill’

‘Life Is A Carnival’

‘When I Paint My Masterpiece’

‘Ain’t Got No Home’

‘It Makes No Difference’


‘Acadian Driftwood’

‘The Sage Of Pepote Rouge’

In their late ’60s prime, The Band were regarded with the same respect as The Beatles and Bob Dylan. Their first two albums, ‘Music From The Big Pink’ and their eponymous second album, are considered classics of their time.

They effectively split following the release of ‘Islands’ in 1977, but have subsequently reformed for tours, and three more studio albums in the ’90s; ‘Jericho’, ‘High On The Hog’ and ‘Jubilation’. However, these albums did not feature founder member Richard Manuel, who died in 1986.