Iggy Pop, Adam Ant and The Damned to celebrate punk’s 40th birthday at Isle of Wight Festival

Festival to mark four decades of iconic musical movement

Iggy Pop, Adam Ant and The Damned have joined the Isle of Wight Festival 2016 line-up.

The acts are joined on the bill by Buzzcocks, The Godfathers and The Sex Pissed Dolls in what will be a celebration of punk’s 40th birthday. The six new acts join Queen + Adam Lambert, Stereophonics and Faithless on the bill for the festival, which takes place on June 9-12 in Seaclose Park, Newport.

In 1976, 40 years ago next year, The Sex Pistols signed to EMI Records, The Ramones released their debut album and bands such as The Damned, Buzzcocks, The Clash, The Slits, X-Ray Spex, Black Flag and The Adverts all formed.


The Isle of Wight exclusive deal rules Queen and Adam Lambert out of headlining Glastonbury next year. Lambert recently spoke about wanting to play Worthy Farm with Queen and the band were among bookies’ favourites to top the Pyramid Stage bill in 2016.

Isle of Wight Festival takes place at Seaclose Park in Newport between June 9-12. Faithless and Stereophonics will co-headline on Friday June 10 and join Queen on the bill following the announcement that they will top the bill of the festival on Sunday June 12.

Headliners at this year’s festival included Fleetwood Mac, The Black Keys and Blur.