Julian Casablancas, Royal Blood and Charli XCX to provide music for HBO’s ‘Vinyl’

David Johansen recorded the theme song for series produced by Mick Jagger and Martin Scorsese

Plans for the release of music in new HBO series Vinyl have been revealed.

A full soundtrack for the series will be released on February 12. ‘Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — Volume 1’ will feature music from the opening episode of Vinyl including songs by Otis Redding, Sturgill Simpson, Mott the Hoople, and more.

David Johansen has re-recorded New York Dolls’ ‘Personality Crisis’ as the Vinyl theme song while ‘Rotten Apple’ is a song by The Nasty Bits, a fictional band from the series fronted by James Jagger’s character. James Jagger is the son of Mick Jagger, who produced Vinyl alongside Martin Scorsese and Terence Winter.

After the first episode has aired, HBO will release a digital EP every Friday before a new episode airs on the Sunday. Pitchfork reports that artists confirmed to have contributed songs to these EPs include Julian Casablancas, Iggy Pop, Charli XCX, the Arcs, Chris Cornell, Trey Songz, Jessie J, Nate Ruess, Royal Blood, Jess Glynne and Charlie Wilson.

A second full-length soundtrack, ‘Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — Volume 1: Finale’, will then be released on April 15.

Bobby Cannavale, who won an Emmy for his performance as Gyp Rosetti in season three of Boardwalk Empire, stars as Richie, a cocaine-addicted record executive trying to relaunch his label in New York as the new sounds of disco and punk bubble up from the underground.

The show’s ensemble cast also includes include Juno Temple, Ray Romano, Olivia Wilde, Andrew Dice Clay and Borgen‘s Birgitte Sorenson.

Scorsese, who previously worked with Winter on Boardwalk Empire and Jagger on 2008’s The Rolling Stones documentary Shine A Light, has directed the pilot episode of the drama, which will premiere on HBO on February 14.

Sky Atlantic has confirmed they will be airing Vinyl in a simulcast with the US at 2am on February 15, with a repeat at 9pm.