Oasis, Blur and Radiohead set for ‘Kill Your Friends’ soundtrack

Soundtrack to Nicholas Hoult film will be released on November 6

Details of the soundtrack to Britpop thriller Kill Your Friends has been revealed, with Oasis, Blur, The Prodigy and Radiohead all featuring on the album tracklist.

The soundtrack will be released on November 6, the same day that the film hits cinemas, and begins with Blur’s 1997 single ‘Beetlebum’. The Oasis hit ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’ is also included, as is the Chemical Brothers featuring Noel Gallagher track ‘Setting Sun’.

Contemporary artists including Rudimental and Bastille also feature, as does ‘Blood Hands’ by Royal Blood. However, the majority of the album is dedicated to the music from the ’90s world in which Kill Your Friends is set.

The full tracklisting is:

Blur – ‘Beetlebum’
Rudimental (featuring John Newman) – ‘Good Thing’
Bastille – ‘Overload’
The Chemical Brothers – ‘Setting Sun’
Oasis – ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’
Echo and the Bunnymen – ‘The Killing Moon’
Radiohead – ‘Karma Police’
Maxine Ashley – ‘6 Underground’
Blue Boy – ‘Remember Me’
Ol’ Dirty Bastard – ‘Shimmy Shimmy Ya’
Gang Starr – ‘Blowin’ Up The Spot’
The Prodigy – ‘Smack My Bitch Up’
Frida Sundemo – ‘Heroes’
SASH! – ‘Encore une fois’ (Future Breeze édit)
Doof – ‘Suck My Dick’
Songbirds – ‘Sun Goes Down’
Mark Morrison – ‘Return of the Mack’
Royal Blood – ‘Blood Hands’

Based on John Niven’s acclaimed 2008 novel, Kill Your Friends stars Nicholas Hoult as a hard-partying A&R man trying to maintain his position at the top of the British music industry during a ‘Cool Britannia’ era dominated by bands like Oasis, Blur, The Verve and Supergrass.

The film is billed as a “dark, satirical and hysterically funny evisceration of the ’90s music business, a time and place populated by frauds, charlatans and bluffer, where ambition is a higher currency than talent, and where it seems anything can be achieved – as long as you want it badly enough.”

Niven adapted his own novel for the big screen, with Owen Harris (TV’s Black Mirror and Misfits) directing. Alongside Hoult, the film’s cast includes James Corden, Submarine‘s Craig Roberts and Rosanna Arquette.