Catfish and The Bottlemen, Joanna Gruesome lead Welsh Music Prize nominees

Joanna Gruesome won the 2014 prize with their debut album

Catfish and the Bottlemen and Joanna Gruesome are among the nominees for this year’s Welsh Music Prize.

The annual award, now in its fifth year, celebrates the finest Welsh music of the year as well as music made by Welsh people around the world. Created by Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens in 2011, previous winners have included Gruff Rhys and Future Of The Left.

Joanna Gruesome won the 2014 Welsh Music Prize for their debut ‘Weird Sister and are nominated again this year for the follow up, ‘Peanut Butter’. They are joined on the shortlist by Catfish and The Bottlemen for their album ‘The Balcony’ as well as Heavenly Recordings’ Gwenno and H Hawkline among others.

Gwenno’s ‘Y Dydd Olaf’ is one of three Welsh language albums nominated with Calan’s ‘Dinas’ and ‘Dwyn yr Hogyn Nol’ by Geraint Jarman also getting nods.

The winner of the Welsh Music Prize 2014-2015 ceremony will be announced on November 26 at a ceremony at the Sherman Cymru, Cardiff.

GettyPat Graham

Huw Stephens says: “It’s been another great year for Welsh music, with a diverse and strong list of albums making the shortlist. There’s great songwriting, Welsh language records, folk, electronica and world conquering rock on the list. I think the judges have a tough job ahead of them, as these albums are all worthy of their place on the shortlist. We look forward to celebrating all of them in Cardiff in November”

The albums nominated for this year’s Welsh Music Prize are as follows:

Calan – ‘Dinas’
Catfish and The Bottlemen – ‘The Balcony’
Geraint Jarman – ‘Dwyn yr Hogyn Nol’
Gwenno – ‘Y Dydd Olaf’
H. Hawkline – ‘In The Pink Of Condition’
Hippies vs Ghosts – ‘Droogs’
Houdini Dax – ‘Naught Nation’
Joanna Gruesome – ‘Peanut Butter’
Keys – ‘Ring The Changes’
Paper Aeroplanes – ‘Joy’
Richard James – ‘All The New Highways’
Tender Prey – ‘Organ Calzone’
Trwbador – ‘Several Wolves’
Zarelli – ‘Soft Rains’
Zefur Wolves – ‘Zefur Wolves’

The winner of the 2013 Welsh Music Prize was Georgia Ruth for her album ‘Week Of Pines’. For more information, visit