The Beatles, The Who, St Vincent announce new vinyl releases exclusive to UK indie stores

Universal's '12 Days Of Christmas' initiative will run at the beginning of December

Universal have announced details of their ’12 Days Of Christmas’ initiative, which will see 12 acts releasing special vinyl records exclusive to independent retailers in the UK.

The likes of The Beatles, The Who, Metallica, St Vincent, Weezer and Bon Jovi are all among the contributors for the project, which spans the first 12 days of December.

Metallica will release ‘Lords Of Summer’ on 12-inch on December 1, while The Beatles will issue a seven-inch of ‘Long Tall Sally’ on December 2.

St Vincent will release two new tracks ‘Pieta’ and ‘Sparrow’ on 10-inch (December 8), Weezer will release the ‘Back To The Shack’ seven-inch (December 9) and The Who will round things off with the ‘Be Lucky’ seven-inch (December 13).

Other acts taking part include Wings, Imagine Dragons, 5 Seconds Of Summer, Tim Hardin and Shirley Collins & Davy Graham.

Universal Music UK’s commercial division MD Brian Rose said: “At a time of the year when many retailers are focused on high volume Christmas releases we thought it was important to do something special for the indie stores who are important to us 52 weeks a year.”

Over 120 independent record stores will be taking part in the initiative. Find out more information at the Universal website.

See the full list of releases below.

Metallica – ‘Lords of Summer’ 12-inch (December 1)
The Beatles – ‘Long Tall Sally’ seven-inch (2)
Tim Hardin – ‘Tim Hardin 1 & 2’ LPs (3)
Wings – ‘Let Em In/Beware My Love’ seven-inch (4)
Bon Jovi – ‘Live 2’ 10-inch (5)
5 Seconds Of Summer – picture disc LP (6)
St Vincent – ‘Pieta/Sparrow’ 10-inch (8)
Weezer – ‘Back to the Shack’ seven-inch (9)
Shirley Collins & Davy Graham – ‘Folk Roots, New Roots’ LP (10)
Wings – ‘Letting Go’ seven-inch (11)
Imagine Dragons – ‘Night Vision’ picture disc LP (12)
The Who – ‘Be Lucky’ seven-inch (13)