Manic Street Preachers and Super Furry Animals contribute to ‘Welsh Rock For Refugees’ charity album

Stereophonics, Charlotte Church, Feeder's Grant Nicholas, Cerys Matthews and more also featured

A host of Welsh acts have contributed music to a new charity album in aid of refugees currently seeking asylum in Europe.

As a response to the recent refugee crisis, bands including Manic Street Preachers, Super Furry Animals and Stereophonics have contributed to Welsh Rock For Refugees, a new 30-track compilation.

Other acts to take part include Charlotte Church, Feeder’s Grant Nicholas, Cerys Matthews, The Joy Formidable, Gwenno, Euros Childs, Gulp, Game Of Thrones star Iwan Rheon and more.


The album – which includes unreleased tracks and rare recordings – is available to purchase at Bandcamp.

Manic Street Preachers’ Nicky Wire said of his band’s involvement, “It’s a real honour to be able to give this previously unreleased piece of music to such a worthy cause and for it to sit alongside so many brilliant Welsh artists.”


Refugee Action CEO Stephen Hale, meanwhile, said, “This is an incredible initiative at an incredible time. Thank you so much to David and all the artists who have stepped up to support refugees and donated a track. These funds will enable us to support and speak out for refugees and asylum seekers here in the UK, helping them to rebuild their lives after fleeing from war and persecution.”

Journalist David Owens, the man behind the release, added, “I can only thank all the artists who agreed to donate tracks. There are unreleased remixes from Gruff Rhys and Manic Street Preachers, new songs from The Joy Formidable and Charlotte Church, as well as rarities from Mike Peters, Euros Childs, Gwenno and Sterephonics – as well as many more gems from some of the finest musicians from Wales. I’ve been truly astounded and humbled by the response. I hope people will support the album and we can help provide comfort and security for those who have none.

See the full tracklisting below.

1. Frisbee – Super Furry Animals
2. New Loafers – 60ft Dolls
3. Roll On Up – Houdini Dax
4. You Taught Me (new recording) – The Joy Formidable
5. Thinking Out Loud (unreleased original of Ed Sheeren hit) – Amy Wadge
6. 5c Cotton 40c Beef – Cian Ciaran
7. Graves (new recording) – Climbing Trees
8. Devastation – Pale Blue Dots
9. The Surgeon – Euros Childs
10. Sbia ar y Seren (new Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci cover) – Georgia Ruth
11. Lines & Angles – Ellie Makes Music
12. Vast – Gulp
13. Chwyldro (R.Seiliog remix) – Gwenno
14. You’re My Star (rare live recording) – Stereophonics
15. Miller (Live at The Gate) – Zervas & Pepper
16. Caer O Feddyliau – Kizzy Crawford
17. Refugees In The West World – Mike Peters
18. Box (new recording) – Charlotte Church
19. Hippos – Cerys Matthews
20. Lost Tribes (previously unreleased Tomas Barford Remix) – Gruff Rhys
21. Alcohol Kiss – Trampolene
22. Goldrush (previously unreleased acoustic version) – Paper Aeroplanes
23. Guillotine – Sion Russell Jones feat. Lillian Todd
24. Rhodd – Iwan Rheon and Aled Rheon
25. Safe In Place – Grant Nicholas
26. Liberty Rd – The Earth
27. No Borders – Zefur Wolves
28. Redesign – Jayce Lewis and Gary Numan
29. Molly (previously unreleased acoustic version) – The People The Poet
30. William’s Last Words (previously unreleased Underworld mix r37br11) – Manic Street Preachers