Today’s new releases: Nicki Minaj, D’Angelo and more

Plus new releases from Ghostface Killah and a collaboration between Malcolm Middleton and David Shrigley

Nicki Minaj and D’Angelo lead this week’s new releases.

‘The Pinkprint’ is Nicki Minaj’s third album, following on from 2010’s ‘Pink Friday’ and 2012’s ‘Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded’. It features collaborations with Beyoncé, Jessie Ware, Meek Mill and Jeremih among others.

The US rapper’s third album was originally intended for release on November 24 but was postponed. It features the singles ‘Anaconda’ and ‘Only’, featuring Drake, Lil Wayne and Chris Brown. The latter caused controversy upon the release of its official video, with director Jeffrey Osborne admitted using Nazi-themed imagery in the promo.

Meanwhile, D’Angelo releases his long-awaited new album ‘Black Messiah’. The album is D’Angelo’s first record since ‘Voodoo’ was released in 2001.

D’Angelo has also announced plans for ‘The Second Coming Tour’, which will see him playing Birmingham Academy (February 17), Manchester Apollo (18) and London Apollo (20) alongside his band The Vanguard, which is made up of bassist Pino Palladino, guitarists Jesse Johnson and Isaiah Sharkey, keyboardist Cleo ‘Pookie’ Sample and John Blackwell on drums.

There are also new records from Ghostface Killah and a collaboration between Malcolm Middleton and the artist David Shrigley.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

D’Angelo and The Vanguard – ‘Black Messiah’
5 Seconds Of Summer – ‘Live SOS’
Ghostface Killah – ’36 Seasons’
Malcolm Middleton and David Shrigley – ‘Words and Music’
Nicki Minaj – ‘The Pinkprint’
Various – Annie (OST)
Various (Disney) – Into The Woods (OST)

Find definitive NME album reviews here.