Today’s new releases: Blur, Raekwon and more

Plus new albums from Nai Harvest, Braids and Mew

Blur lead this week’s new releases with their new album ‘The Magic Whip’.

‘The Magic Whip’ is Blur’s first new album since 2003 and the first with guitarist Graham Coxon since ’13’ was released in 1999.

Guitarist Graham Coxon recently told NME that the new album helped him “make amends” with singer Damon Albarn.

Coxon said: “Damon and I have an increased respect for each other because of this record, and we’re not ashamed to let each other know about that increased respect. But what we also have a lot of history, and our friendship – like any friendship between two people in a band together – has had to go through a lot. It’s been put to the test, and we’ve often let each other down. This record was a way of saying, ‘Sorry for being such a pain in the arse for the last 20 years.'”

Albarn later followed this up, adding that it would be “madness” for Blur to end their relationship, claiming they were “too young and stupid” to realise how important the band was before they initially split up in 2003.

Blur will headline British Summer Time in London’s Hyde Park on June 20. They have also been announced as a headliner for this year’s Isle Of Wight festival and Benicàssim festival in Spain.

Drummer Dave Rowntree has claimed that Blur will not be headlining Glastonbury this year.

Today also sees the release of new records from Raekwon, Braids, From First To Last, George Fitzgerald, San Fermin and Eaves while Drake releases the physical version of his recent mixtape, ‘If You’re Reading This, It’s Too Late’.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Blur – ‘The Magic Whip’
Braids – ‘Deep In The Iris’
Drake – ‘If You’re Reading This, It’s Too Late’ [CD]
Eaves – ‘What Green Feels Like’
Frankie Knuckles/Various Artists – ‘Defected presents House Masters – Frankie Knuckles’
From First To Last – ‘Dead Trees’
George Fitzgerald – ‘Fading Love’
Mew – ‘+-‘
Nai Harvest – ‘Hairball’
The Proclaimers – ‘Let’s Hear It For The Dogs’
Raekwon – ‘Fly International Luxurious Art’
San Fermin – ‘Jackrabbit’
Tracey Thorn – ‘Songs From The Falling (OST)’
Zac Brown Band – ‘Jekyll + Hyde’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.