Keith Richards, Robert Plant and Iggy Pop join ‘We Are Not Afraid’ campaign

Raising funds for refugee crisis and victims of religious and political violence

Keith Richards, Robert Plant, Iggy Pop, Yoko Ono and Ringo Starr are among the artists who have joined the ‘We Are Not Afraid’ campaign.

‘We Are Not Afraid’ is a global campaign aimed at raising funds for the refugee crisis and victims of religious and political violence.

The campaign is centred around the song ‘We Are Not Afraid’ by Nigerian singer Majek Fashek. A video, directed by Kevin Godley and featuring Richards, Plant, Pop, Ono, Starr as well as Debbie Harry, Buddy Guy and more will be released on September 29.


In total, 175 artists are involved in the campaign and will be seen holding signs declaring they are “Not Afraid” in the video.

In a statement, Godley said: “Irrational hatred is a cancer of humanity’s own design. To succumb would mean the failure of our species.”

Other artists involve include Questlove, Pussy Riot, George Clinton, Susan Sarandon, Thurston Moore, Fiona Apple, Fred Armisen, Phil Lesh, Ralph Steadman, The Doors‘ Robby Krieger and John Densmore, Shepard Fairey and more

All proceeds generated by the project will be donated to Human Rights Watch (HRW) and the International Rescue Committee (IRC).