Mercury Prize 2016 nominations announced – see shortlist in full

Radiohead, David Bowie, The 1975 and Skepta lead the list of nominees

The shortlist has been revealed for this year’s Mercury Prize.

The annual prize heralds the best record released by a British or Irish artist and was won last year by Benjamin Clementine for his album ‘At Least For Now’. It will be held on September 15 this year.

The nominations for the 2016 Hyundai Mercury Prize were announced at a ceremony in London on Thursday morning (August 4).


Among the nominees are Radiohead, Skepta, The 1975, Bat For Lashes and Savages. David Bowie receives a posthumous nomination for ‘Blackstar’.

The list is completed by Anohni, Jamie Woon, Kano, Laura Mvula, Michael Kiwanuka and The Comet Is Coming. See the full list below.

Anohni – ‘Hopelessness’
Bat For Lashes – ‘The Bride’
David Bowie – ‘Blackstar’
Jamie Woon – ‘Making Time’
Kano – ‘Made in the Manor’
Laura Mvula – ‘The Dreaming Room’
Michael Kiwanuka – ‘Love & Hate’
Radiohead – ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’
Savages – ‘Adore Life’
Skepta – ‘Konnichiwa’
The 1975 – ‘I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it’
The Comet Is Coming – ‘Channel the Spirits’

Speaking about the shortlist, the judging panel said in a joint statement: “This is music to make sense of our unsettling times – heartfelt, angry, thoughtful and thrilling. The 2016 Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ are marked by their musical ambitions, unexpected instrumentation and breathtaking arrangements.”


This year’s Mercury Prize Show will take place at Hammermsith’s Eventim Apollo for the first time and will feature live performances from nominated acts plus a special collaboration to mark the Prize’s 25th anniversary. BBC Music will be providing live television and radio coverage of the event on BBC Four and 6 Music.