Warpaint reveal new ‘Jubilee Real’ single at Great Escape festival

LA four-piece have been busy in the studio

Warpaint have chatted to NME about how they have returned to the studio recently to record a new one-off single.

The Los Angeles four-piece teamed up with Jake Bercovici, who produced their debut EP ‘Exquisite Corpse’, for new track ’Jubilee Real’ – which they played at the Corn Exchange tonight (May 11) as part of Brighton‘s The Great Escape festival.

The band laid down the song in Santa Monica. It was originally intended for their 2010 debut album ‘The Fool’, admitted guitarist Theresa Wayman. “It was a song we recorded for that album but there was just one section of it that we didn’t quite know what to do with so we decided to keep it off the record,” she told NME.


She added: “It starts off really mellow and Emily‘s [Kokal, singer/guitarist] melody is really beautiful, it almost feels like a pop ballad in a certain way. Playing it live though we almost took it to a place where we were rocking out like Dinosaur Jr or something. It was fun for us to push the envelope that way.”

Wayman said that the band are hoping to release the song in the next couple of months and that it will draw a line under their debut album.

“It is wrapping up the first album for sure and it is a part of the era that album came from,” she added. “After that is out we can really start afresh [with their second album].” The band performed the track at The Great Escape tonight alongside songs including ’Undertow’, ’Warpaint’ and ’Baby’.

Speaking of their return to the festival where they made their British live debut, May added: “Playing here last year was a distinct marker in the evolution of our band because it was the first time we’d ever come to the UK, which was huge for us because six months before that we’d barely even left Los Angeles.

“I felt like a baby last year, really out of my element which was all very exciting but scary. I feel a little less naked this year.”


Also appearing at The Great Escape tonight are acts including Frank Turner, DJ Shadow, The Joy Formidable and Villagers.


The Roots Of… Rage Against The Machine

Rage Against The Machine have announced that they're reuniting for a slate of shows in 2020. To celebrate the return of one of rock's...

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts

10 Artists Who Defined The Decade: The 2010s

We celebrate the artists whose work in the 2010s changed the cultural conversation forever