Poppy releases cover of Tatu’s ‘All The Things She Said’ as she criticises US politics

"There still remains an absurd amount of injustice for minorities in America"

Poppy has shared a video of her covering Tatu‘s Number One hit ‘All The Things She Said’.

Writing on Instagram, the musician explained that the cover – a UK chart topper for the Russian duo Tatu in 2002 – was originally recorded for Pride month.

However, in light of the ongoing unrest in American following the death of George Floyd and the ensuring protests there and around the world, the musician instead decide to share it yesterday (June 3) with a message about her thoughts on the situation in America and President Donald Trump.


In the post, Poppy wrote: “This cover song was delivered to my label over two weeks ago, with the purpose of being released in time for Pride Month. Unfortunately, in the time elapsed since then, we’ve been faced with a tragedy that calls for our much needed attention.”

She continued: “While we are still fighting for equality in the lgbtq+ community, we still have a long way to go, and there still remains an absurd amount of injustice for minorities in America.

“I cannot adequately express may distain for how our government, and above all, our president is reacting to what’s happening in America right now. I encourage you to educate yourself, go out and protest, donate, and raise your voice to speak out against this injustice.”

You can listen to the song here:

View this post on Instagram

All The Things She Said⁣ ⁣ Out Now

A post shared by Poppy (@impoppy) on


Poppy confirmed the rescheduled dates for the UK and European legs of her ‘I Disagree’ tour earlier this year.

The US pop star was forced to postpone the run of shows, which were originally scheduled to begin in March, because of the coronavirus outbreak.

“I Disagree UK / EU tour is back,” she told fans on Twitter at the time. The tour will now begin in Madrid on November 19 and will arrive in the UK with a gig in Newcastle on December 7.

The rescheduled ‘I Disagree’ tour dates are as follows:

November 2020

19 – Madrid, Cool
20 – Salamandra, L’hospitalet De Llobregat
23 – Milan, Santeria Toscana 31
24 – Vienna, Flex
25 – Zurich, Dynamo
26 – Munich, Strom
28 – Berlin, Columbia Theatre
29 – Hamburg, Grüenspan

December 2020

1 – Amsterdam, Melkweg
2 – Bochum, Zeche Bochum
5 – Paris, Trabendo
7 – Newcastle, Riverside
9 – Glasgow, Garage
10 – Manchester, O2 Ritz
11 – Bristol, SWX
12 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
13 – London, O2 Empire Shepherds Bush

Poppy released her latest album, ‘I Disagree’, in January 2020. In a four-star review, NME wrote: “[This] is her most accomplished record, full of daring theatre and snarling forward motion. While all our favourite rock bands are going pop, Poppy is unapologetically embracing her desire to go heavy.

“It might be inspired by the bands she grew up listening to, but there’s not a moment on ‘I Disagree’ that feels like a throwback. Try and keep up with her.”

You May Like