Wavves announce release of hip-hop inspired new album

The band's fourth album is set for release in March of next year

Wavves have announced the release of their fourth, hip-hop inspired new album.

The Californian band plan to put out their 13-track new LP on March 26, 2013.

The album, which is as yet untitled, was recorded in Los Angeles and produced by John Hill (MIA, Santigold). The band’s frontman Nathan Williams told Rolling Stone that they have mixed hip-hop beats in with their surf-punk guitar sound on the new album.


He said: “The idea of that was interesting to me, to see if it could mix. Just make it seem like it should be there.”

Williams added: “Every time that we record something I want it to sound different than previous efforts. It’s definitely a different pace than anything we’ve ever put out before.”

He also went on to say that the year-long album sessions were very booze-driven. “This past year has ruined my liver. I drank more during the recording process than I’ve ever drank,” he explained.

Song titles on the follow-up to 2010’s ‘King of the Beach’, include ‘Dog’, ‘I Can’t Dream’, ‘Sail To The Sun’, ‘Paranoid’ and ‘Everything Is My Fault’. The latter song, says bassist Stephen Pope, is “a pretty big departure for us from things we’ve done in the past.”

Click below to watch the video for ‘Sail To The Sun’.