We Are Scientists debut new material

Shockwaves NME Awards Show get a taste of second album

We Are Scientists previewed several new songs in London tonight (February 27).

Opening with new song ‘Spoken For’, the Brooklyn trio tore through a rousing set stuffed with brand new tracks and hits from their debut album ‘With Love and Squalor’.

Currently in the midst of writing their follow-up LP, the band used the opportunity to road-test a number of new songs including ‘Dinosaurs’ and ‘Impatience’.

Watched by friends including Chris Urbanowicz of Editors, Dirty Pretty ThingsAnthony Rossomando and members of Art Brut, the band were the latest in a line of bands to play sold-out NME Shockwaves Awards shows across London.

They played:

‘Spoken For’

‘This Scene Is Dead’


‘Worth the Wait’


‘Cash Cow’

‘It’s A Hit’

‘Can’t Lose’


‘Best Behavior’


‘Chick Lit’

‘Lousy Reputation’

‘Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt’


‘The Great Escape’

Support on the night came from The Scare, Pull Tiger Tail and Switches.

The Shockwaves NME Awards 2007 meanwhile take place tomorrow (March 1), stay tuned to NME.COM for the best coverage straight from the ceremony.