Weezer to release six holiday songs

High demand prompts band to digitally release iPhone game tracks

Weezer are set to digitally release six Christmas songs that were originally recorded for the recently-released iPhone app ‘Tap Tap Revenge Christmas With Weezer’.

The band recorded the tracks especially for the app, but demand was so great from non-iPhone users that they decided to make the songs available for purchase online.

The songs recorded are ‘We Wish You A Merry Christmas’, ‘Silent Night’, ‘O Holy Night’, ‘First Noel’, ‘Hark The Herald Angels Sing’ and ‘O Come, All Ye Faithful’, along with two bonus tracks.

Weezer recently completed a North American tour in support of their sixth album ‘Weezer’ (also known as ‘The Red Album’).

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.