Boy Azooga named winners of the Welsh Music Prize

Manics and Gruffy Rhys had also been on the shortlist

Boy Azooga have been named the winners of the Welsh Music Prize, for their debut album ‘1-2, Kung Fu’.

The Cardiff four-piece beat the likes of Manic Street Preachers, Gruff Rhys and Gwenno, who were also among the 12-strong shortlist.

Accepting the award at the ceremony at Cardiff venue Coal Exchange, singer Davey Newington said: “This is a proper honour, with all the other amazing people nominated. Just to be part of Welsh music at the moment is exciting.”


The ceremony saw last year’s winners The Gentle Good play live, while the inaugural Welsh Music Inspiration Prize was awarded to Meic Stevens, the 76-year-old singer-songwriter who performs in Welsh and English.

Before forming Boy Azooga, Newington was the drummer in Charlotte Church’s band. Speaking to NME earlier this year, Newington said his inspirations include William Onyeabor, The Avalanches and The Beach Boys, adding: “Paul McCartney is a massive inspiration as a bass player.”

Newington has a long lineage in Welsh music. His grandfather was a jazz musician who played drums in the Royal Marines, while his parents met when they were members of the BBC National Orchestra Of Wales, where his mum played clarinet and his dad was a violinist.

Gruff Rhys and Gwenno had previously won the Welsh Music Prize, with the other artists on the shortlist being Alex Dingley, Astroid Boys, Bryde, Eugene Capper And Rhodri Brooks, Catrin Finch And Seckou Kaita, Mellt, Seazoo and Toby Hay.


The Welsh Music Prize began in 2011, when Super Furry Animals singer Gruff Rhys won for ‘Hotel Shampoo’.

Boy Azooga tour from November and you can buy tickets for the tour here.

Boy Azooga Tour Dates:
November 29: O’Neills, Cardiff
December 1: District, Liverpool
December 21: Yes, Manchester

You May Like