Wilco reveal new album plans

The Grammy winners get set for a busy 2007

Wilco are getting ready to release their sixth studio album next year.

The band have been busy working on the follow-up to 2004’s Grammy winner ‘A Ghost Is Born’ at The Loft, their studio and homebase in Chicago. Longtime associate Jim O’Rourke will mix the still untitled, self-produced album in New York, with a May release tentatively scheduled.

O’Rourke, who recently moved to Japan after parting ways with Sonic Youth, has worked with the band on their previous two albums – ‘A Ghost Is Born’ and 2002’s ‘Yankee Hotel Foxtrot’. He has also performed with Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy and drummer Glenn Kotche in their Loose Fur side project.

The band have performed a dozen new songs at their concerts over the last six months.

They are:

‘Let’s Not Get Carried Away’

‘Side With the Seeds’

‘What Light’

‘Shake It Off’

‘Impossible Germany’

‘On and On and On’

‘Lullaby For Rafter and Beams’

‘Patient With Me’


‘Let’s Fight’

‘Is That the Thanks I Get?’

‘Maybe the Sun Will Shine’

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.