Wilco star releases solo album

It's out in March

Wilco drummer/percussionist Glenn Kotche is to release his new solo album in the spring.

‘Mobile’ is out on March 6, and features eight tracks written by the man himself.

The album features a wide range of instruments, including vibraphone, kalimba, mbira, and one track, ‘Monkey Chant’, featuring just a drum kit.


As well as Wilco, Kotche is one-third of experimental rock trio, Loose Fur, along with Jeff Tweedy and Jim O’Rourke. The group’s self-titled album was released in 2003, with a new record slated for 2006.

Kotche is also is half of the jazz experimental duo On Fillmore with bassist Darin Gray.

Their latest recording, ‘Sleeps With Fishes’, landed them an appearance at the prestigious 2005 Percussion Pan Festival in Brazil.