XXXTentacion’s posthumous release ‘Skins’ reaches no. 1 on The Billboard charts

The controversial rapper's posthumous album reached number 1

XXXTentacion’s posthumous album release, ‘Skins’, has reached number 1 on the Billboard 200 chart.

The album sold 132,000 album units during its first week of release, including 52,000 traditional copies.

‘Skins’ marks the first full-length record to be released since the Florida rapper’s death in June. The 20-year-old was shot and killed while leaving a motorcycle dealership in Broward County.

‘Skins’ is the third studio album from the controversial late artist and features 10 songs, one of which – ‘One Minute’ – features Kanye West. West is the only guest appearance on the album.

You can listen to the album here:

West seemingly defends XXXTentacion on the album, as was reported earlier in December when the album was leaked ahead of its release West opens the song by rapping: Now your name is tainted by the claims they paintin’/The defendant is guilty, no one blames the plaintiff.”

Reviewing ‘Skins’, NME said: “[‘Skins’ is] a misguided attempt to redeem the deceased rapper, who had been accused of appalling, violent crimes…this posthumous record is an inventive but slight and ultimately dispiriting body of work.”

XXXTentacion performs during the second day of the Rolling Loud Festival in downtown Miami in 2017. Credit: Matias J. Ocner/Miami Herald/TNS/ Getty Images

XXXTentacion had been accused of domestic abuse by his ex-girlfriend last year. He pled not guilty to the charges but confessed to domestic abuse and other violent acts in a secret recording.

Last week, XXXTentacion was revealed as the “surprise guest” on the new Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse soundtrack.

The new animated Marvel movie is soundtracked by the likes of Vince Staples, Nicki Minaj and more. The OST also features a song by Lil Wayne and Ty Dolla $ign titled ‘Afraid of the Dark’. The original track listing for the album noted that the song featured a “special guest”.