Yeah Yeah Yeahs to reveal new single ‘Sacrilege’ on Monday (February 25)

Band gear up for release of new album 'Mosquito'

Yeah Yeah Yeahs are set to reveal their new single ‘Sacrilege’ next week.

The track, which will be he first single from new album ‘Mosquito’, will receive its world premiere on Zane Lowe’s Radio 1 show between 7 and 9pm on Monday, February 25. The band have previously dropped hints about the sound of their new material via two trailers, but ‘Sacrilege’ will be the first full length thing offered to fans ahead of the album release. You can see the track artwork above.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs previously revealed a taste of new material via a teaser featuring new song ‘Always’. Fans reacting online to the trailer have compared the new song to the Cocteau Twins on account of its ethereal sound. ‘Mosquito’ will be the band’s fourth LP and the follow-up to 2009’s ‘It’s Blitz!’. It sees the band again working with long-time producer David Sitek and Nick Launay, and was recorded at Sonic Ranch in Tornillo, Texas, where ‘It’s Blitz!’ was recorded.

Speaking exclusively to NME about the album, singer Karen O said, “Well… it’s definitely different from the last album. So I guess you could say that hasn’t changed about us! It’s all over the place. The sound of the record is, I guess, a bit more lo-fi sounding and slightly more influenced by roots reggae. There’s a lot of delay on stuff and there’s a more raw sound to it than there was last time.”

Karen O has previously claimed that Yeah Yeah Yeahs‘ new album is the band’s most stripped back and lo-fi sounding work in years, saying the songs are both “uplifting and cheerful”.

Meanwhile, the band have also confirmed they will appear at SXSW this year. The band will perform at Stubb’s in Austin, Texas on March 13, on a bill that also features Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. Both acts’ sets will be streamed live on the NPR website.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs will curate I’ll Be Your Mirror alongside Grizzly Bear over the weekend of May 4-5. Bands confirmed for the event so far include The Walkmen, Black Lips, Real Estate, Dirty Beaches and Cass McCombs. The band will also perform in Manchester and Glasgow around the same time.