Years & Years detail new album ‘Palo Santo’, tease single and share Judi Dench-narrated short film trailer

Second album is out in July

Years & Years have confirmed their new album ‘Palo Santo’, revealed details about the release and teased both their next single and upcoming short film.

‘Palo Santo’, the follow-up to 2015 debut ‘Communion’, will be released on July 6 via Polydor Records. It will feature previously revealed tracks ‘Sanctify’ and ‘Hypnotised’.

Today (April 26), the band have teased what they say will be the “first official single’ from the album, which will be “revealed very soon”.


A press release says of the album: “On ‘Palo Santo’, Years & Years’ impact on pop feels truly tribal, one in which the minority is always the majority, and everyone is welcome.”

It adds that the band have created “the perfect space in which to tell their most intimate, personal stories; on identity, sexuality, performance, and ultimately, what it means to be human”.

Collaborators on the record include Kid Harpoon, Greg Kurstin, Julia Michaels and Justin Tranter to Steve Mac, Jessie Shatkin and Sarah Hudson

See the album’s artwork below:

Years and Years’ ‘Palo Santo’ artwork

Years & Years have also shared a trailer for their upcoming short film, also titled Palo Santo, which is narrated by Dame Judi Dench, directed by Fred Rowson and starring Olly Alexander, Dench and cult Thai actor Vithaya Pansringarm.


The plot reads: “Palo Santo has also become a city on a distant planet, on which human beings are a rare commodity, worshipped and idolized by an android society. Olly, along with the final humans, is recruited to perform in a series of bizarre erotic cabarets, for an artificial master known only as The Showman.”

Watch the trailer beneath:

The ‘Palo Santo’ tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Sanctify
  2. Hallelujah
  3. All For You
  4. Karma
  5. Hypnotised
  6. Rendezvous
  7. If You’re Over Me
  8. Preacher
  9. Lucky Escape
  10. Palo Santo
  11. Here (Interlude)
  12. Howl (Bonus track)
  13. Don’t Panic (Bonus track)
  14. Up In Flames (Bonus track)

Meanwhile, frontman Olly Alexander has admitted that he cried backstage at Glastonbury after delivered a much praised speech about prejudice.

The singer also recently revealed that he was advised to stay in the closet when the band first got signed.