Yoko Ono names recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace

Four winners will be honoured on John Lennon’s birthday in Iceland

Yoko Ono has named the four winners of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace, which will be presented in Iceland on John Lennon’s birthday.

The winners are Chinese activist and artist Ai Weiwei, Inidian artist Anish Kapoor, Danish artist Olafur Eliasson and Hungarian poet and performance artist Catalan Ladik.

The award is given two years and was founded in 2002. The ceremony takes place in Reykjavik on October 9, which would have been the 76th birthday of Ono’s late husband.


Ono said of this year’s grant winners: “I’m very proud to award the 2016 Lennon Ono Grant For Peace to these four incredible individuals. To have to label any of them with a description of what they do is both limiting and frustrating, because what they give to our world is so much bigger than even the tangible art they create. Born in different cultures, each of the recipients has shown us the true path of creativity, belief and hope for the world. Their huge contribution to our world is so much greater than the sum of its parts.”

Previous winners of the grant have included Pussy Riot, Doctors Without Borders, Michael Pollan and Alice Walker.

Since 2007, Ono has gone to Iceland to lead ceremonies commemorating Lennon around his birthday. On October 9, she illuminates Imagine Peace Tower, a tower of light on the island of Videy which remains lit until December 8, the date of Lennon’s death.

Ono received the NME Inspiration award at this year’s NME Awards in February, which was presented to her by Thurston Moore.

The same month, she released remix album ‘Yes, I’m A Witch Too’, featuring remixes by Death Cab For Cutie, Portugal The Man, Moby, Miike Snow, Sparks, Peter Bjorn And John and her son Sean Lennon.


You May Like