The new Pearl Jam record won’t drop until 2019

Bassist Jeff Ament said the band won’t be recording until the fall because they're too busy touring

The new Pearl Jam record won’t be released until 2019, according to bassist Jeff Ament.

Despite releasing new track ‘Can’t Deny Me’ in March, which will serve as the lead single on the group’s 11th album, the Seattle rockers haven’t had a chance to spend any solid time in the studio yet.

Speaking during an episode of Kyle Meredith With, Ament explained that the band are too busy with an upcoming tour to carve out any time in the studio.


He said the band need, “a good solid six to eight weeks carved out where we’re just recording all these ideas that we have.”

Ament went on to add, “The one thing we have working against us is the upcoming tour, the other thing we have working against us is it takes three or four months to do a vinyl version of any record,” before stating that “2019 is probably safe to say” when it comes to any timeframe for the new record’s release.

But fans can expect something “really good” from the as yet unrecorded album, as Ament explained “there’s a lot to be inspired by and a lot to be pissed off about.”

The new album will be a follow up to 2013’s ‘Lightening Bolt,’ and features recent single ‘Can’t Deny Me.’

Penned by Eddie Vedder and Mike McCready, the track seems to take aim at US President Donald Trump.

“The higher, the farther, the faster you fly / You may be rich but you can’t deny me / Got nothing, got nothing but the will to survive / You can’t control and you can’t deny me,” Eddie Vedder sings in the chorus, adding: “Watch as the roots take hold / the country you are representing / critical condition.”


Ament recently spoke to NME before the release of his third solo record, ‘Heaven/Hell’, which dropped earlier this month.

Speaking about Pearl Jam’s recent induction into the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of fame, Ardent told NME: “You know, there’s something that happens when we get together and just get in that creative zone. So you know, the creative zone and then just going out and trying to help people as much as we can.”

Pearl Jam are embarking on a huge European and UK tour this summer, with two dates at London’s O2 Arena on the 18th and 19th of June. Tickets are on sale now.

12 Amsterdam, Ziggo Dome
15 Landgraaf, Pinkpop Festival
18 London, O2 Arena
19 London, O2 Arena
22 Milan, i-Days Fest
24 Padova, Stadio Euganeo
26 Rome, Stadio Olimpico

01 Prague, O2 Arena
03 Krakow, Tauron Arena
05 Berlin, Waldbühne
07 Werchter, Rock Werchter Festival
10 Barcelona, Palau St. Jordi
12 Madrid, Mad Cool Festival
14 Lisbon, NOS Alive Festival

You May Like