‘Purple Rain’ reissue and unreleased Prince material coming next year

A deluxe, remaster edition of ‘Purple Rain’ is coming in early 2017

A trio of new Prince releases have been announced including an album featuring material from the late musician’s vaults.

A greatest hits album, ‘Prince 4Ever’, comprised of 40 of the star’s best-known tracks as well as one unreleased song ‘Moonbeam Levels’, will be released on November 22.

The compilation will be followed by a deluxe reissue of Prince’s 1984 classic ‘Purple Rain’ in April according to plans that were “agreed [upon] with Prince before he passed away”.

Alongside the reissue, NPG Records and Warner Bros. are planning to put out a third album that contains previously unreleased Prince songs, rumoured to be the first of many.

Last week, it was reported that thousands of hours of unreleased music recorded by Prince over four decades has been put up for sale.

All three major labels were said to be in talks to buy the rights to Prince’s vault for as much. as $35 million (£28 million).

The report says that Prince’s estate are unsure of what the vault contains as they have only begun the process of cataloging the recordings.

‘Prince 4Ever’ tracklist:

01 1999
02 Little Red Corvette
03 When Doves Cry
04 Let’s Go Crazy
05 Raspberry Beret
06 I Wanna Be Your Lover
07 Soft and Wet
08 Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad
09 Uptown
10 When You Were Mine
11 Head
12 Gotta Stop (Messin’ About)
13 Controversy
14 Let’s Work
15 Delirious
16 I Would Die 4 U
17 Take Me With U
18 Paisley Park
19 Pop Life
20 Purple Rain
21 Kiss
22 Sign ‘O’ The Times
23 Alphabet Street
24 Batdance
25 Thieves In The Temple
26 Cream
27 Mountains
28 Girls & Boys
29 If I Was Your Girlfriend
30 U Got The Look
31 I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man
32 Glam Slam
33 Moonbeam Levels
34 Diamonds and Pearls
35 Gett Off
36 Sexy MF
37 My Name Is Prince
38 7
39 Peach
40 Nothing Compares 2 U