Rock And Roll Hall of Fame announce 2017 nominees: Depeche Mode, Kraftwerk, Tupac and more

Chic, Pearl Jam, ELO, Jane’s Addiction, Janet Jackson, Journey and more also in running

The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame has announced a list of its 2017 nominees.

The Hall Of Fame was launched in 1983 and annually inducts bands and artists pivotal to alternative music and culture.

Last year saw NWA, Cheap Trick, Chicago, Deep Purple and Steve Miller all inducted. NWA’s induction proved controversial in some circles with Kiss frontman Gene Simmons hitting out at the decision to induct a rap act.


Now the longlist of 2017 nominees has been announced and it includes Chic, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Janet Jackson, Journey, Kraftwerk, MC5, Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur and Yes. See the full list beneath.

The final five inductees will be announced in December.

Bad Brains
The Cars
Chaka Khan
Depeche Mode
Electric Light Orchestra
J. Geils Band
Jane’s Addiction
Janet Jackson
Joan Baez
Joe Tex
Pearl Jam
Tupac Shakur
The Zombies

At last year’s Hall Of Fame ceremony, NWA’s MC Ren responded to Gene Simmons’ backlash by saying “I want to say to Mr. Gene Simmons that hip-hop is here forever. We’re supposed to be here.”

Ice Cube later added: “The question is, ‘Are we rock and roll? And I say you goddamn right we rock ‘n’ roll. Rock and roll is not an instrument. It’s not even a style of music. It’s a spirit that’s been going on since the blues, jazz, bebop, soul, rock ‘n’ roll, R&B, heavy metal, punk rock, and yes, hip-hop.”

Simmons responded by tweeting: “Respectfully let me know when @JimiHendrix gets into the Hip Hop Hall Of Fame. Then you’ll have a point.”

You May Like