BBC axes ‘Never Mind The Buzzcocks’ after 18 years

Irreverent music-themed panel show ran for 28 series and 269 episodes

The BBC has cancelled Never Mind The Buzzcocks after over 18 years on air.

The irreverent music-themed panel show launched on BBC Two in November 1996 and ran for 28 series and 269 episodes, the last of which aired in December 2014. The previous July, Rhod Gilbert joined the show as its first permanent presenter in five years, but he was unable to improve its ratings, which had been in steady decline for some time.

A spokesperson for the BBC told Broadcast: “After 28 series we’ve decided not to bring Never Mind The Buzzcocks back to the BBC. This will create space for new entertainment formats in the future. We’d like to thank the team at [production company] Talkback, Rhod Gilbert, all the brilliant hosts over the years and of course Noel and Phill for the years of enjoyment they’ve given BBC Two viewers.”


Mark Lamarr hosted Never Mind The Buzzcocks for its first 17 series, before Simon Amstell took over for series 19 to 22. During series 18 and series 23-27 the show was hosted by a series of guest presenters including Mark Ronson, Blur’s Alex James and Jack Whitehall.

Phill Jupitus served as a team captain throughout Buzzcocks‘ 28-series run, with Sean Hughes, Bill Bailey and most recently Noel Fielding all putting in stints as his rival team captain. Notable guests on the show over the years included the late Amy Winehouse, Huey Morgan from Fun Lovin’ Criminals, Ryan Jarman from The Cribs and Preston from The Ordinary Boys, who famously stormed off set after Amstell read extracts from the autobiography of his then wife, Chantelle Houghton.