‘Doctor Who’ star Matt Smith to attend 50th anniversary celebration event

Past stars Tom Baker, Colin Baker and Sylvester McCoy also confirmed for 3-day celebration in London

Doctor Who star Matt Smith is to attend the show’s official 50th anniversary celebration event.

The three-day celebration will take place from November 22-24 at London’s ExCeL exhibition centre. Former Doctor Who stars Tom Baker, Colin Baker and Sylvester McCoy are also confirmed to attend.

Activities and attractions will include on-stage panels with cast members, a special effects show from Doctor Who‘s special effects guru Danny Hargreaves, and “walk like a monster” masterclasses with the show’s monster choreographer Ailsa Burke.

Tickets for each day of the event will cost £45 for adults and £20 for children and go on sale at 11am on Monday, July 8. Visitors will also have the opportunity to have their photo taken with Smith but will need to book a slot in advance from the event’s website at an additional cost.

“The event this year will be an extra special occasion for me,” Smith said in a press release. “I’m truly looking forward to a huge celebration with the fans in the lead up to the 50th anniversary episode.”

The show’s 50th anniversary episode is set to air on BBC1 on November 23. In addition to current companion Jenna-Louise Coleman, Smith will be joined for the episode by his Doctor Who predecessor David Tennant and popular former companion Billie Piper.

Smith announced last month (June) that he will be leaving the show at the end of this year (2013) and viewers will see his Doctor regenerate during the upcoming Christmas special. According to a recent report, his successor is “almost certain” to be announced just before filming begins on the Christmas special in August or September.

Rory Kinnear, best known for playing MI6 officer Bill Tanner in the last two Bond movies, is the current bookies’ favourite to succeed him. Other actors linked to the iconic role include Ben Daniels (House Of Cards), Dominic Cooper (The History Boys), David Harewood (Homeland) and Julian Rhind-Tutt (The West Wing).