Ricky Gervais says he would love to host the Oscars

David Brent: Life On The Road comedian is due to tour the UK next year

Ricky Gervais has admitted that he would love to host the Oscars one day.

The comedian, who has hosted the Golden Globes four times, declared it would be “carnage” if he was at the helm of the Academy Awards but insisted that it would never happen.

“I would do it but I would never get it,” Gervais told Press Association. “I would want to do it like I did the Globes but they would never let me.

“If they did I would do it and take all the flak, it would be carnage. Even the Golden Globes, which is the next one down, no disrespect, I’ve never had column inches like it.

“You usually have to kill four or five people to get that. And forever, it still comes up. It’s crazy, people should have watched that and thought ‘yeah that was alright’ there was no need to write about it that much.”

Read more: ‘Fuck The Public!’: Ricky Gervais On Twitter, Fame And David Brent – The Full NME Cover Interview

Gervais was renowned for cutting down Hollywood stars at the ceremony. He said if he ever did the Oscars he would do the same.

He added: “I don’t know what else you’re allowed to take the mickey out of if it isn’t people’s chosen and preferred behaviours in public, it wasn’t a room full of wounded soldiers.

“These were actors and I was teasing them about their film or their foibles and I’m in that group, I put myself in there too.”

Gervais recently extended his 2017 UK stand-up tour ‘Humanity’. His UK tour dates are as follows:

Tue February 21 2017 – BRISTOL Colston Hall
Wed February 22 2017 – BRISTOL Colston Hall
Thu February 23 2017 – BRISTOL Colston Hall
Tue February 28 2017 – YORK Barbican
Wed March 01 2017 – YORK Barbican
Mon March 06 2017 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena Cardiff
Tue March 07 2017 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena Cardiff
Mon March 13 2017 – MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
Tue March 14 2017 – MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
Wed March 15 2017 – LIVERPOOL Liverpool Empire Theatre
Wed March 22 2017 – BOURNEMOUTH BIC
Tue March 28 2017 – BELFAST Waterfront Hall
Wed March 29 2017 – BELFAST Waterfront Hall

David Brent: Life On The Road is released on Blu-Ray and DVD today (December 12).