Watch The xx debut new songs at first live show in two years

The trio performed three new songs in Zagreb last night (November 28)

The xx debuted a number of new songs during their first gig in two years.

The trio launched a short European tour in Zagreb, Croatia last night performing four songs from their forthcoming new album including ‘Brave For You’ and ‘Performance’, ‘I Dare You’ (which they performed on SNL) and their new single ‘On Hold’. Watch clips of the performance below.

Yesterday, The xx shared a video for ‘On Hold’, filmed entirely in Marfa, Texas, where the band spent time recording earlier this year.

The band are scheduled to play further shows in the Czech Republic, Poland and Lithuania supported by Jenny Hval over the next few days before finishing the year with a gig in Japan.

The tour will pick-up in 2017 with a string of dates across the UK and western Europe, including a record-breaking seven-night run at London’s O2 Academy Brixton. The group will also play Nottingham, Manchester and Cardiff.

The xx’s third album, ‘I See You’, is due on January 13. The LP was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Texas, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London and produced by the band’s Jamie Smith, plus Rodaidh McDonald. It has been described as “more outward-looking, open and expansive”.


A video posted by Nika Trebušak (@nikatrebusak) on

#thexx #newsong #zagreb

A video posted by Damir (@brodjo) on