The function on WhatsApp to delete and unsend messages is about to get much, much better.
Once, messages sent via the app were unable to be deleted. Then, WhatsApp introduced the unsend function – allowing users to remove and take down messages within seven minutes of being sent.
Now, as WABetaInfo reports, you will soon have over an hour to delete messages, giving the user 68 minutes and 16 seconds to recall them.
To delete a message on WhatsApp, simply tap and hold the message, tap ‘delete’ at the top of the screen, then select “delete for everyone”. They will then appear as “this message was deleted”.
Meanwhile, last month saw a number of changes announced for the new WhatsApp update.
It is reported that users will be able to send payments securely via the app, with WhatsApp to be integrated as a payment method for Facebook Marketplace too.
Not only that, but apparently WhatsApp will be able to share information with Facebook and the other services that it owns.
However, the new Terms of Service reportedly reads: “The Facebook Companies (which include WhatsApp) are a group of companies that are owned by Facebook. Other Facebook Companies provide services to WhatsApp so that we can operate and provide our Services.”
It adds: “When we share your personal information with other Facebook Companies, it will only be used to provide services to WhatsApp on our behalf in accordance with our instructions and terms or to help ensure the safety, security, and integrity of WhatsApp and other Facebook Company Products.”
“Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your phone number, will be shown on Facebook or any of the Facebook Company Products, unless you choose to show it.”