Blur swept the board at the awards, at the awards which took place on January 24th. There was an inevitable showdown between Damon Albarn and Oasis’ Liam Gallagher. In fact, Liam jeered at Shed Seven and Elastica during his acceptance speeches but was told to “shut the fuck up” by Manics’ James Dean Bradfield as they collected their award for best Radio 1 Evening Session Of The Year award.
Tip Top TV
Best LP (voted by NME readers)
Blur – ‘Parklife’
Best Single (voted by NME readers)
Oasis – ‘Live Forever’
Best New Band
Best Solo Artist
Paul Weller
Worst Record
Whigfield – ‘Saturday Night’
Film Of The Year
Pulp Fiction
Best TV Show
Knowing Me, Knowing You…With Alan Partridge
Best Comedian
Steve Coogan
Most Desirable Human Being
Kylie Minogue
Best Club/Venue
London Brixton Academy
NME Album Of The Year
Oasis – ‘Definitely Maybe’
NME Singles Of The Year
Blue – ‘Girls And Boys’
Philip Hall/ On Award For Best New Act
Godlike Genius Award For Services To Music
Alan McGee, Creation Records
Live Act Of The Year
Best Rap Artist
Warren G
Event Of The Year
Glastonbury Festival
Bummer Of The Year
Kurt Cobain’s Suicide
Best Video
Blur – ‘Parklife’
Best Band
Best Live Event
Orbital at Glastonbury