Shockwaves NME Awards 2009 – The Winners In Full

So, the Shockwaves NME Awards 2009 are well and truly over and the entire office (plus half of the rock community, several hundred Cure fans and Sarah Harding) are nursing biblical hangovers, including we suspect this guy:



(We haven’t worked out the identity of the fool yet, just that he’s not in a band and one passer-by labelled him an “industry douchebag”).

Anyway, here’s that winners list in full. Glad to see Muse win Best Live Band again? Pissed that Barack beat Brandon as Hero Of The Year? Let us know what you think below and let battle commence…

Best British Band
Winner – Oasis
Nominated – Bloc Party, Radiohead, Muse, Last Shadow Puppets

Best International Band
Winner – The Killers
Nominated – MGMT, Kings Of Leon, Vampire Weekend, Crystal Castles

Best Solo Artist
Winner – Peter Doherty
Nominated – Lightspeed Champion, Ladyhawke, Jay-Z, Laura Marling

Best New Band
Winner – MGMT
Nominated – Vampire Weekend, Glasvegas, Late Of The Pier, White Lies


Best Live Band
Winner – Muse
Nominated – Radiohead, Oasis, The Killers, Kings Of Leon

Best Album
Winner – Kings Of Leon (‘Only By The Night’)
Nominated – The Killers, Glasvegas, Oasis, Bloc Party

Best Track
Winner – MGMT (‘Time To Pretend’)
Nominated – Vampire Weekend (‘A-Punk’), The Last Shadow Puppets (‘The Age Of The Understatement’), Kings Of Leon (‘Sex On Fire’), The Ting Tings (‘That’s Not My Name’)

Best Video
Winner – The Last Shadow Puppets (‘My Mistakes Were Made For You’)
Nominated – Late Of The Pier (‘Heartbeat’), Radiohead (‘House Of Cards’), Vampire Weekend (‘A-Punk’), Oasis (‘The Shock Of The Lightning’)

Best Live Event
Winner – Glastonbury
Nominated – T In The Park, Isle Of Wight Festival, Reading & Leeds Festivals, V Festival

Best TV Show
Winner – The Mighty Boosh
Nominated – Skins, Gavin & Stacey, Never Mind The Buzzcocks, The IT Crowd

Best Dancefloor Filler
Winner – Dizzee Rascal (‘Dance Wiv Me’)
Nominated – Crystal Castles (‘Courtship Dating’), Friendly Fires (‘Paris’), Bloc Party (‘Mercury’), Late Of The Pier (‘Bathroom Gurgle’)

Best DVD
Winner – Arctic Monkeys At The Apollo
Nominated – Foo Fighters: ‘Live At Wembley’, The Rolling Stones: ‘Shine A Light’, Muse ‘HAARP’, Kaiser Chiefs: ‘Live From Elland Road’

Best Band Blog
Winner – Noel Gallagher / Oasis
Nominated – Little Boots, Lightspeed Champion, Radiohead, Foals

Best Venue
Winner – London Astoria
Nominated – O2 Arena, Glasgow Barrowland, O2 Academy Brixton, Manchester Apollo

Best Album Artwork
Winner – Muse (‘HAARP’)
Nominated – We Are Scientists (‘Brain Thrust Mastery’), The Cure (‘4.13 Dream’), Guillemots (‘Red’), The Killers (‘Day & Age’)

Hero Of The Year
Winner – Barack Obama
Nominated – Brandon Flowers, Noel Gallagher, Noel Fielding, Alex Turner

Villain Of The Year
Winner – George Bush
Nominated – Peter Doherty, Amy Winehouse, John McCain, Gordon Brown

Best Dressed
Winner – Alexa Chung
Nominated – Noel Fielding, Brandon Flowers, Alex Turner, Noel Gallagher

Worst Dressed
Winner – Amy Winehouse
Nominated – Katy Perry, Peter Doherty, Brandon Flowers, Johnny Borrell

Worst Album
Winner – Jonas Brothers (‘A Little Bit Longer’)
Nominated – Coldplay (‘Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends’), Britney Spears (‘Circus’), Scouting For Girls (‘Scouting For Girls’), Razorlight (‘Slipway Fires’)

Worst Band
Winner – Jonas Brothers
Nominated – Tokio Hotel, Scouting For Girls, Fall Out Boy, Oasis

Sexiest Male
Winner – Matt Bellamy
Nominated – Carl Barat, Keith Murray, Peter Doherty, Miles Kane

Sexiest Female
Winner – Hayley Williams
Nominated – Kate Jackson, Alison Mosshart, Lykke Li, Stephanie Dohen

Best Website
Winner – YouTube
Nominated – Facebook, Last FM, MySpace, Bebo