Album Review: Fake Problems

Album Review: Fake Problems


It’s Great To Be Alive

Facts about this album:

* Fake Problems are singer Chris Farren, bassist Derek Perry, guitarist Casey Lee and drummer Sean Stevenso.

* ‘It’s Great To Be Alive’ is their second album, and the follow-up to ‘How Our Bodies Grow’.

Album review:

After a debut album that wallowed on about socio-political issues and a fear of dying, Fake Problems have changed tack with their sophomore record. Accompanied by the same kind of sonic bombast of Decemberists and the hoarse, throaty vocal delivery of Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump, this time around the Floridian quartet are not so much inciting joie de vivre in the listener as delivering a seminar on it. And, although there’s a certain camaraderie to be found on ‘The Dream Team’, the group hug of ‘Heart BPM’ and the emotional neediness of ‘Tabernacle Song’, where frontman Chris Ferren declares “everything I need is right here”, can feel like an all-intensive therapy session, making you long for the life of a hermit.

Ash Dosanjh

More on this artist:
Fake Problems NME Artist Page
Fake Problems MySpace