Black Submarine – ‘New Shores’

Black Submarine - 'New Shores'


Members of The Verve and Portishead create an enigmatic world of pastoral folk and psychedelic pop

Black Submarine would have been the original Verve reformed – minus Richard Ashcroft – if drummer Pete Salisbury wasn’t, according to Nick McCabe, loyal to their former singer. As such, it’s impossible to listen to ‘New Shores’ removed from the politics of The Verve and, perhaps unsurprisingly, it’s something of a confused album recorded and mixed in sporadic bursts with rotating vocalists. Featuring McCabe, bassist Simon Jones, Coldplay/Goldfrapp/Verve arranger Davidé Rossi and ex-Portishead drummer Mig Schillace, it covers space rock (‘Here So Rain’), pastoral folk (‘Move Me A Mountain’) and psychedelic pop (‘Is This All We Feel’), without ever settling. It’s an intriguing world for Verve fans to decipher, but more of a splurge than an album of conviction.

Phil Hebblethwaite


Record label: Kobalt Music
Release date: 10 Mar, 2014