Album Review: The New Pornographers – ‘Together’ (Matador)

All jangling pop melody and delicious boy-girl harmonies

[b]The New Pornographers[/b] have historically come off second best in Canada’s entirely fictional Battle Of The Supergroups, with [b]Broken Social Scene[/b] the blushing bride to their green-eyed ‘maid. Here, though, they stake a firm claim for parity with arguably their most consistent set yet – and, with guest appearances from Zach ‘[b]Beirut[/b]’ Condon, Annie ‘[b]St Vincent[/b]’ Clark and [b]Okkervil River[/b]’s [b]Will Sheff[/b], also their most star-studded. Lead single [b]‘Crash Years’[/b] is classic New Pornos; all jangling pop melody and delicious boy-girl harmonies, while [b]‘Silver Jenny Dollar’[/b] harbours one of [b]Dan Bejar[/b]’s finest hooks yet.

[b]Rob Webb[/b]

Click here to get your copy of The New Pornographer’s ‘Together’ from the Rough Trade shop


Juice WRLD, 1998-2019 – the NME obituary

The Chicago rapper has died from a seizure at the age of 21

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts