Air announce new album 'Le Voyage Dans La Lune'

French duo's new LP features Au Revoir Simone and Beach House's Victoria Legrand

Air announce new album 'Le Voyage Dans La Lune'

Photo: Press

Air have announced that they will release their new album 'La Voyage Dans La Lune' early next year.

The album, which has been inspired by the black and white silent film of the same name, is due for release on February 6 2012. It is the French band's seventh album and their first since 2009's 'Love 2'.

The album's title translates as 'A Trip To The Moon' and was originally conceived as a new soundtrack to the 14-minute long film, which was first released in 1902 and was directed by Georges Méliès. However, after creating the soundtrack, the duo then decided to turn the project into a full album.

'La Voyage Dans La Lune' is set to feature vocal contributions from Au Revoir Simone and Beach House's Victoria Legrand.

Air's Nicolas Godin said of the album: "'A Trip to the Moon' is undoubtedly more organic than most of our past projects. We wanted it to sound 'handmade and knocked together', a bit like Méliès' special effects. Everything is played live and like Méliès' film, our soundtrack is nourished by living art."

The tracklisting for 'Le Voyage Dans La Lune' is as follows:

'Astronomic Club'
'Seven Stars'
'Retour Sur Terre'
'Moon Fever'
'Sonic Armada'
'Who Am I Know?'
'Cosmic Trip'
'Homme Lune'

Read More On This Artist

More News
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today