The Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser announces debut solo LP

'Black Hours' features members of Vampire Weekend and Fleet Foxes - it comes out in May

The Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser announces debut solo LP

Photo: Jenn Five/NME

Frontman of The Walkmen Hamilton Leithauser has announced plans for his debut solo LP.

'Black Hours' is set for release on May 5 and will feature guest appearances from Rostam Batmanglij of Vampire Weekend, Morgan Henderson of Fleet Foxes and Amber Coffman from Dirty Projectors. "We'd toured with Fleet Foxes and really hit it off with all of them. Morgan is the most natural and accomplished musician I've ever seen. Calling him was like shooting for the stars, but he agreed, and we just knew it would work out with this line up," says Leithauser of the Fleet Foxes man's appearance on the LP. Scroll down to watch the video for first single, 'Alexandra'.

The album, he says, was inspired by the work and sound of Frank Sinatra. "I'd been listening to 'The September of My Years' and 'In the Wee Small Hours' by Sinatra, and I realised this chord progression was actually quite dramatic. It seemed like it could maintain its odd structure, but get enormous with singing and instrumental dynamics. I have a very loud and booming voice and it was fun to put it unapologetically in front of everything. I just went for it."

The Walkmen are currently on "extreme hiatus". The band formed in 2000 and have released seven studio albums, including 2012's 'Heaven'. Emerging alongside The Strokes, Interpol and Yeah Yeahs as a raft of bands broke out of New York at the turn of the century, The Walkmen are perhaps best known for their song 'The Rat', which appeared on 2004 album 'Bows + Arrows'.

The 'Black Hours' tracklisting is:

'The Silent Orchestra'
'11 O' Clock Friday Night'
'St. Mary’s County'
'Black Hours'
'I Retired'
'I Don’t Need Anyone'
'Bless Your Heart'
'The Smallest Splinter'

Read More On This Artist

More News
Arcade Fire discuss 'captivating' live shows on 'CBS Sunday Morning'
Ghostface Killah and Badbadnotgood announce collaboration album
Nine Inch Nails appear on TV show 'Austin City Limits' – watch
Muse complete 'emotional' first session for new album
Ice Cube: 'I still have the anger I had as a teenager'
Pearl Jam premiere new song 'Moline' live – watch
Government official commits suicide following death of 16 fans at South Korea concert
Primus to conceal five golden records as part of 'Willie Wonka' tribute album release
Massive Attack joined by TV On The Radio's Tunde Adebimpe for first 'Pray For...
Gwen Stefani's new single 'Baby Don’t Lie' leaks online
Guitar signed by members of The Smiths, Stone Roses and New Order stolen from charity auction
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club cancel LA gig as drummer undergoes brain surgery
Skrillex and Rudimental to headline Snowbombing 2015
Slipknot stream new album '.5: The Gray Chapter' online
Julian Casablancas: 'I was hungover for five years'
Caribou streams eclectic Essential Mix featuring Daft Punk, Lil Wayne and The Zombies
Unheard Sleater-Kinney song discovered in new boxset - listen
K-Pop band 4Minute release statement following death of 16 fans at South Korea concert
'Celebrity Gogglebox': watch Noel Gallagher comment on 'The X Factor',...
Foo Fighters perform new single 'Something From Nothing' live for the first time - watch
Man gets life in prison for killing a teenager over loud music
Flying Lotus adds new music to his 'Grand Theft Auto V' radio station

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM