Ricky Gervais says David Brent’s album will feature ’15 or 20′ songs

Brent's new songs include 'Please Don't Make Fun Of The Disabled' and 'Native American'

Ricky Gervais has revealed that the David Brent album – set to accompany his famous character’s film debut in this summer’s Life On The Road – will feature “15 [or] 20 tracks”.

The film is set 12 years after The Office and follows Brent as he takes his band Foregone Conclusion on a self-financed UK tour. As well as starring, Gervais is the film’s writer-director.

Speaking about Brent’s new songs on The Graham Norton Show last night (April 8), Gervais said they involve the paper merchant-turned-turned sales rep “trying to change stuff”. Titles for the Brent tracks, which Gervais has written with Andy Burrows of Razorlight and We Are Scientists, include ‘Native American’ and ‘Please Don’t Make Fun Of The Disabled’.


“I sneak a song into everything I do,” Gervais – who fronted short-lived 80s pop duo Seona Dancing – also told Norton. “I wrote a song for The Simpsons, I wrote a song with David Bowie for Extras. I’m a frustrated, failed musician. I have a get-out clause because it’s sort of ironic. It’s so much fun playing with a rock band and they are really brilliant.”

Watch Gervais discussing the return of David Brent on The Graham Norton Show below.

The first trailer for this summer’s David Brent movie was also revealed this week, and sees Gervais’ character in typically inappropriate form.

Alongside Gervais and Andy Burrows, confirmed cast members for Life On The Road include Peter Andre, Kevin Bishop, Plebs‘ Tom Basden and This Is England ’90‘s Jo Hartley. Ben Bailey Smith, who rapped alongside Brent on his 2013 Comic Relief song ‘Equality Street’, appears in the film as Dom.

Life On The Road opens in UK cinemas on August 19.