Arcade Fire, Drake, Mac DeMarco make Polaris Prize shortlist

Jessy Lanza, Owen Pallett and Basia Bulat are also in the running for the Canadian music award

Arcade Fire, Drake and Mac DeMarco have all made the shortlist for this year’s Polaris Music Prize.

A shortlist of 10 was whittled down from a 40-strong longlist ahead of the prize giving ceremony for the Canadian album award on September 22.

Previous nominees Drake and Arcade Fire lead the big names on this year’s shortlist with their albums ‘Nothing Was The Same’ and ‘Reflektor’ respectively.

Singer and producer Jessy Lanza is among the first time nominees for her album ‘Pull My Hair Back’ while Mac De Marco’s latest album ‘Salad Days’ is also in contention. Other artists to feature on the shortlist include Owen Pallett’s ‘In Conflict’ and Basia Bulat’s ‘Tall Tall Shadow’. Scroll down for the full list.

Albums released between June 2013 and May 2014 are eligible for the award, which carries a $30,000 prize. The overall winner will be decided by a panel of jury of journalists, broadcasters and bloggers.

The Polaris Music Prize shortlist is as follows:

Arcade Fire – ‘Reflektor’
Basia Bulat – ‘Tall Tall Shadow’
Mac DeMarco – ‘Salad Days’
Drake – ‘Nothing Was the Same’
Jessy Lanza – ‘Pull My Hair Back’
Owen Pallett – ‘In Conflict’
Shad – ‘Flying Colours’
Tanya Tagaq – ‘Animism’
Timber Timbre – ‘Hot Dreams’
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan – ‘UZU’

Previous winners of the Polaris Music Prize include Caribou (2008), Fucked Up (2009), Karkwa (2010), Arcade Fire (2011), Feist (2012) and Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013).